Menu Close

Behavioral Health Blog

A Trusted Name in Recovery

What Are the 6 F’s of Internal Family Systems?

a family smiles after one of tehm addresses the 6 f's of internal family systems

When people think about their families, people typically think about their parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins. They might not think about the different parts of themselves that make up their family, but everyone has an internal family system. The internal family systems (IFS) model was developed by Dr. Richard Schwartz and is based on the idea that individuals have different parts or “sub-personalities” that make up our whole self. There are six F’s of internal family systems to focus on: find, focus, flesh out, feel toward, befriend, and fear.

Rockland Recovery Behavioral Health can help you understand and work with yourself. Call us at 855.520.0531 to learn more about starting internal family systems in Massachusetts at our center.

What Is Internal Family Systems?

The internal family systems model is a form of psychotherapy that views the human psyche as composed of various sub-personalities, or “parts.” IFS views each of these parts as having its unique perspective, beliefs, and emotions. This type of therapy aims to help individuals develop a more harmonious relationship with their parts, leading to a more balanced and fulfilling life. IFS therapy also emphasizes the importance of the therapist-client relationship and the therapist’s role as a facilitator of change.

What Are the 6 F’s of Internal Family Systems?

One specific question important to understanding IFS is, “What are the six F’s of internal family systems?” The system starts with six basic F’s.

  1. Find – The first step is to find the different sub-personalities or “parts” that make up your internal system. Through a process of self-exploration and introspection.
  2. Focus – Once you have identified your parts, it is important to focus on each individually. This will help you better understand their unique perspectives, beliefs, and emotions.
  3. Flesh out – The next step is to flesh out each part by giving it a name and further exploring its characteristics. This will help you better understand how each part functions within your internal system.
  4. Feel toward – It is important to start developing a feeling toward each of your parts. This can be done by exploring your emotions towards each part and considering how each part feels towards you.
  5. Befriend – This step aims to develop a more positive relationship with each of your parts through practicing forgiveness, compassion, and understanding.
  6. Fear – The final step is to work through any fears you may have about your parts or your internal system. This includes addressing fears that may hinder you from developing a healthy relationship with your parts.

The six F’s of IFS is a helpful framework for understanding and working with your different parts. By following these steps, you can develop a more harmonious relationship with your parts.

The Importance of the 6 F’s of IFS

IFS therapy is founded on the principle that individuals all have an innate capacity for self-healing and self-regulation. This capacity is often obstructed by our parts, which can lead to a variety of psychological problems. The six F’s of IFS are designed to help individuals move beyond these obstructions and develop a more integrated relationship with their parts.

If you want to learn more about the six F’s of IFS, there are a few things that you should keep in mind. The steps are not necessarily linear. You may find that you need to revisit certain actions multiple times before moving on to the next one. Finally, it is important to be patient and allow yourself the time and space to work through each step.

IFS vs. Family Counseling

Family counseling and IFS are often confused. While both IFS therapy and family counseling focus on families, they have different approaches. Family counseling focuses on the relationships between individuals within a family unit, while IFS therapy focuses on an individual’s internal system and relationship with their parts.

Benefits of IFS

Internal family systems has several benefits, especially for individuals struggling with their sense of self. These benefits include:

  • Improved self-awareness and understanding of one’s internal system
  • Better control over emotions and reactions
  • Improved relationships with others through understanding one’s own parts
  • Increased self-compassion and self-esteem

Overall, IFS therapy can lead to a more balanced and fulfilling life by helping individuals develop healthier relationships with their different parts.

Benefits of Family Counseling

Family counseling, on the other hand, will provide different benefits depending on the needs of the family. Some potential benefits include:

  • Improved communication and problem-solving skills within the family unit
  • Better understanding and acceptance of each other’s perspectives
  • Healing past wounds and traumas within the family
  • Strengthened bonds and relationships within the family

While both IFS therapy and family counseling can bring positive changes to individuals, they have different focuses and goals. It is important to carefully consider which approach would be most beneficial for you or your family.

Call to Start IFS at Rockland Recovery Behavioral Health

If you’re interested in exploring the six F’s of IFS, Rockland Recovery Behavioral Health can help. We offer various services designed to help you develop a more integrated relationship with your parts. Our team of experienced therapists can help you identify your parts, explore their unique perspectives, and develop a more positive relationship with them. We also offer group therapy, cognitive-behavioral therapy, and workshops that can help you learn more about IFS and how to apply it in your life. We’re here to help you every step of the way. If you’re ready to start on the path to recovery, contact us today at 855.520.0531.